IEEE International Symposium on Personal, Indoor and Mobile Radio Communications
08-13 October 2017 – Montreal, QC, Canada


* The following information is provided on an unofficial basis for the sole purpose of assistance. The Conference cannot be held responsible for any change in the data. It is the responsibility of the participant to ultimately validate it from official sources, some of which are named below.

Don’t forget to ensure you have a valid passport at all times, and in some cases, a visa. Please check the last info sections provided at the bottom of this webpage on how you can obtain an invitation letter from the conference to help you apply and get a visa (and/or travel & budget approvals from your employer). American citizens returning home should also be aware that there are new customs requirements in effect . For more information, visit the web sites of Citizenship and Immigration Canada and the U.S. Department of State.


As of June 1, 2009, everyone re-entering the USA, including American citizens requires a passport.

The U.S. Passport Card can be used to enter the United States from Canada, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Bermuda at land border crossings or sea ports-of-entry and is more convenient and less expensive than a passport book. The Passport Card cannot be used for international travel by air.

Many other international visitors to Canada do not require a visa, including:

  • Citizens of Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Botswana, Brunei, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel (National Passport holders only), Italy, Japan, Korea (Republic of), Latvia (Republic of), Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Papua New Guinea, Poland (with e-passport), Portugal, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Solomon Islands, Spain, Swaziland, Sweden, Slovenia, Switzerland, United States, and Western Samoa;
  • Persons lawfully admitted to the United States for permanent residence who are in possession of their alien registration card (Green card) or can provide other evidence of permanent residence;
  • British citizens and British Overseas Citizens who are re-admissible to the United Kingdom;
  • Citizens of British dependent territories who derive their citizenship through birth, descent, registration or naturalization in one of the British dependent territories of Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Montserrat, Pitcairn, St. Helena or the Turks and Caicos Islands;
  • Persons holding a British National (Overseas) Passport issued by the Government of the United Kingdom to persons born, naturalized or registered in Hong Kong;
  • British subjects who hold a passport issued by the United Kingdom and who have the “right of adobe” there;
  • Persons holding a valid and subsisting Special Administrative Region passport issued by the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China;
  • Persons holding passports or travel documents issued by the Holy See;
  • Persons holding an ordinary passport issued by the Minister of Foreign Affairs in Taiwan that includes their personal identification number.

Citizens of the following countries and territories require a Visa to VISIT or TRANSIT Canada:


• Afghanistan
• Albania
• Algeria
• Angola
• Argentina
• Armenia
• Azerbaijan


• Bahrain
• Bangladesh
• Belarus
• Belize
• Benin
• Bhutan
• Bolivia
• Bosnia-Herzegovina
• Brazil
• Bulgaria
• Burkina Faso
• Burundi


• Cambodia
• Republic of Cameroon
• Cape Verde
• Central African Republic
• Chad
• Chile
• China
• People’s Republic of Colombia
• Comoros
• Congo, Democratic
• Republic of the Congo
• Republic of the Costa Rica
• Cuba
• Czech Republic


• Djibouti
• Dominica
• Dominican Republic


• East Timor
• Ecuador
• Egypt
• El Salvador
• Equatorial Guinea
• Eritrea
• Ethiopia


• Fiji


• Gabon
• Gambia
• Georgia
• Ghana
• Grenada
• Guatemala
• Guinea
• Guinea-Bissau
• Guyana


• Haiti
• Honduras


• India
• Indonesia
• Iran
• Iraq
• Israel (only Israeli citizens holding valid Israeli “Travel Document in lieu of National Passport”)
• Ivory Coast


• Jamaica
• Jordan


• Kazakhstan
• Kenya
• Kiribati
• Korea, North
• Kosovo
• Kuwait
• Kyrgyzstan


• Laos
• Lebanon
• Lesotho
• Liberia
• Libya
• Lithuania (holders of non-biometric passports only)


• Macao S.A.R.
• Macedonia
• Madagascar
• Malawi
• Malaysia
• Maldives Islands
• Mali
• Marshall Islands
• Mauritania
• Mauritius
• Mexico
• Micronesia, Fed. States
• Moldova
• Mongolia
• Montenegro
• Morocco
• Mozambique
• Myanmar (Burma)


• Nauru
• Nepal
• Nicaragua
• Niger
• Nigeria


• Oman


• Pakistan
• Palau
• Palestinian Authority
• Panama
• Paraguay
• Peru
• Philippines
• Poland (holders of non-biometric passports only)


• Qatar


• Romania
• Russia
• Rwanda


• Sao Tomé e Principe
• Saudi Arabia
• Senegal
• Serbia
• Seychelles
• Sierra Leone
• Somalia
• South Africa
• South Sudan
• Sri Lanka
• Sudan
• Surinam
• Syria


• Taiwan (except holders of the ordinary passport issued by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Taiwan that includes their personal identification number)
• Tajikistan
• Tanzania
• Thailand
• Togo
• Tonga
• Trinidad and Tobago
• Tunisia
• Turkey
• Turkmenistan
• Tuvalu


• Uganda
• Ukraine
• United Arab Emirates
• Uruguay
• Uzbekistan


• Vanuatu
• Venezuela
• Vietnam


• Yemen


• Zambia
• Zimbabwe


Should you need to apply for a visa to enter Canada and require an invitation letter, you will need prior registration to the conference with fill payment (cf. REGISTRATION) before requesting one. Please submit your request by email to <> and indicate your payment invoice number. And please expect processing time of one to two two business days as of 2017-08-06, with sincere apologies please for all pending requests submitted earlier.

The letter of invitation helps the visa officer assess the purpose of the trip and the resources the applicants require during their stay in Canada. The Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada’ Special Event Code for this event is “17PIMR”. Inclusion of this code in the letter of invitation should facilitate the processing of visa applications.

Submission of Visa Applications:

Canada does not have a visa office in every country so it is important that delegates visit the website of the visa office responsible for processing their visa applications. Information is available on the website on how to submit a visa application and the documentation required.

Delegates are encouraged to submit their visa applications well in advance of the date of the event at a Visa Application Centre  or online E-applications (e-Apps).